You Are Here:
You are here: SYSTEM ADMINISTRATION > Resetting the Unit to Factory Configuration

Resetting the Unit to Factory Configuration

In certain situations, it may be desired to reset all NetClock configurations back to the factory default configuration. The GNSS location, any NetClock configurations and the locally stored log files can be cleared via the Web UI.

Caution: It is not possible to clear the Authentication logs and NTP logs.

Note: Restoring configurations (reloading a saved configuration), erasing the stored GNSS location and clearing the log files are separate processes. You may restore one without restoring the others.

If NetClock was assigned a static IP address before cleaning the configurations, it will be reset to DHCP after the clean has been performed. If no DHCP server is available after the clean operation, the static IP address will need to be manually reconfigured. See Assigning a Static IP Address.

Resetting All Configurations to their Factory Defaults

To restore the configuration files to their factory defaults:

  1. Navigate to TOOLS > SYSTEM: Upgrade/Backup.
  2. In the Actions panel, click the Restore Factory Defaults (Clean) button.
  3. NetClock restores the configuration files to the factory settings, and then reboots in order to read the new configuration files. Once powered back up, NetClock will be configured with the previously stored files.
  4. Note: While the geographic GNSS position is stored and retained through power cycles, choosing Clean (Restore Factory Configuration) will erase the stored GNSS position.

    Erasing the position stored in your GNSS receiver means that the next time the GNSS antenna is connected and the GNSS receiver is able to continuously track at least four satellites, a new GNSS survey will be initiated, so the position can be recalculated and locked-in. A GNSS survey typically takes up to 33 minutes.