You Are Here:

NTP Expert Mode

Advanced NTP configuration is possible via the NTP Expert Mode, which allows you to write directly into the NTP.conf file (the syntax is similar to the one used with CISCO routers).

Caution: NTP Expert Mode should only be utilized by advanced users, as incorrectly altering the NTP.conf file can cause NTP to stop working (if NTP is configured as an input reference, SecureSync could lose synchronization).

To access the NTP Expert Mode, navigate to MANAGEMENT > NTP Setup. The switch for the NTP Expert Mode is in the panel NTP Services.

Caution: Any configurations made in NTP Expert Mode will be lost as soon as NTP Expert Mode is disabled.

NTP utilizes the NTP.conf file for its configuration. Normally, configuration of this file is indirectly performed by a user via the integrated configuration pages of the SecureSync Web UI. However, it may be desired in certain circumstances to edit this file directly, instead of using the web-based setup screens. When Expert Mode is enabled, the user has direct access to the NTP.conf file.

Caution: Spectracom Tech Support does not support the editing of the NTP configuration files while in the Expert Mode. For additional information on editing the NTP.conf file, please refer to http://www.ntp.org/.

Note: IMPORTANT: If an undesirable change is made to the NTP.conf file that affects the NTP operation, the NTP.conf file can be manually changed back as long as the previous configuration was known.

  • The NTP.conf file can be reset back to the factory default values by either using the procedure to restore all of the SecureSync factory default settings (see Restoring the Default NTP Configuration) or editing the file back to the original configuration as shown in the factory default configuration below.

Caution: If changes are made to the NTP.conf file while in the Expert mode, Expert mode should remain enabled from that point forward. Disabling Expert mode after changes being made to this file may result in loss of this configuration information.

Factory default NTP.conf file:

restrict 127.0.0.1

restrict ::1

restrict default noquery nomodify

restrict -6 default noquery nomodify

keys /etc/ntp/keys/ntp.keys

controlkey 65533

requestkey 65534

trustedkey 65533 65534

server 127.127.45.0 prefer minpoll 4

server 127.127.22.0 minpoll 4

fudge 127.127.22.0 stratum 0

peer 10.10.128.35 minpoll 3 maxpoll 3 autokey

keysdir /etc/ntp/keys/

crypto pw admin123 randfile /dev/urandom

driftfile /etc/ntp/ntp.drift

logfile /home/spectracom/log/ntp.log

statsdir /home/spectracom/log/ntpstats/

statistics loopstats peerstats clockstats

filegen loopstats file loopstats type day enable

filegen peerstats file peerstats type day enable

filegen clockstats file clockstats type day enable

Prior to Expert mode being enabled, the Network: NTP Setup page will contain various tabs for configuring different options of the NTP Service. To prevent inadvertent changes from being made to a user-edited NTP.conf file via the web pages, these NTP configuration tabs are removed from the web browser view as long as the Expert mode remains enabled (only the Expert Mode tab is visible in Expert Mode; all other tabs will no longer be present). Disabling the Expert mode restores these tabs to the Edit NTP Services window.

To enable the Expert Mode, and edit the NTP.conf file:

  1. Navigate to MANAGEMENT > NETWORK: NTP Setup.
  2. In the NTP Services panel locate the Expert Mode switch:
  3. When enabled, the NTP Service operates in Unicast mode. In Unicast mode, the NTP Service responds to NTP requests only. The NTP Service supports a broadcast mode in which it sends a NTP time packet to the network broadcast address.

  4. Click the Expert Mode switch.
  5. Confirm by clicking OK in the dialog box.
  6. Click the GEAR icon.
  7. In the Edit NTP Services window, edit the file as desired in the text box under the Expert Mode tab.
  8. Click the Submit button to save any changes that were made.
  9. Disable and then re-enable the NTP service using the NTP ON/OFF switch in the NTP Services panel. SecureSync will now use the new NTP configuration per the manually edited file.

Caution: Any configurations made in NTP Expert Mode will be lost as soon as NTP Expert Mode is disabled.